Beauty · Beverages · Business, customerservice, customer service, · Cake · Cakes · coffee · Festival · Flowers · Food · Food hampers · Gifts · Gold · Hampers · Health · Jewellery, watches, lifestyle, · Kitchen · Kitchen appliances · Low Carb · Recipes · Slimmingworld · Snacks · Subscriptionbox · Sugar · Weightwatchers

Being a Brand Ambassador

Lots of you who read this will have probably seen a link on my social media. Some may understand the world of being a ‘blogger’ , ‘influencer’, or ‘brand ambassador ‘. Some of you may be intrigued – I get messages from people asking me how to become one. My response is always the same. Work hard, be prepared to spend up to and sometimes over 12 hours a day to build good relationships and be courteous, kind, respectful and patient.
My post though is not really about how to build your ‘visibility’ which makes it more attractive to engagers – it’s about what happens in the day of myself – a brand ambassador, I will call it ‘blogger’ as it’s quicker to type lol.

My life as a blogger started with my weightloss journey. My venture into Slimming World was the best thing I have done for myself in years . I have to thank Slimming World for giving me confidence, health and helping me regain self esteem. It began sharing ideas in group, sharing recipes and new products. People started to look to me in group for inspiration which was unbelievable to me and I became a very active member on their Facebook page sharing anything I could find and cook to inspire. I was voted Woman of the Year 2016 and it truly was one of my happiest days!

That’s where my life as a blogger started as I decided to be more active with my social media sharing to a larger audience.

My typical day starts as soon as I open my eyes! I reach for my phone, check to see if any of my followers or friends have sent me late messages – I always respond there and then. The only messages I ignore are the spoof accounts!
So once I have replied to any messages I quickly scroll through my feed to see what people have been up. Unfortunately with some platforms if you like too many it’s seen as spam so I am only able to ‘like’ a few. If you don’t get a like off me, it’s not because I don’t want to, it’s because we are restricted and I also follow over 4000 people so it’s impossible to like them all. I get inspiration from everyone though. Posts jump out, meals inspire me and your stories are so motivational. The most important aspect about my Instagram account are my followers – not the products I receive – I always respond to messages throughout the day as soon as I can and love getting them and being in touch with such kind genuine people. We are all wanting to be healthier, slimmer and fitter – That is the foundation of my life as a blogger.
Once I can part myself from my social media and have responded to all messages I get up and have my coffee. My phone is on charge ready to take breakfast pics. I photograph, eat and post my pics at the same time. Many a meal goes cold lol!
I tag in any suppliers on my pics and use lots of hashtags which I key in manually. I don’t use any automated system . When I post I am posting live.

Once breakfast is over I shower, get dressed and do my makeup and think of any stories I can do. I love talking to you all and the messages I get in return which need responding to I can’t ignore them!

For those who are not so familiar with my lifestyle we live on beautiful big boat. This needs taking and filling up with water, emptying out, filling with diesel etc – probably 3 times a week. We have to watch the weather – it gets difficult if it’s windy and in winter, but we get to enjoy the summer days ‘al fresco’ We fit this into our days which takes a couple of hours or so and keeps Ken busy and happy. I quite often in the midst of a blog have to quickly put my coat on and help Ken manoeuvre the boat. Especially if the weather is bad!
Around lunchtime I get the post.
If I am lucky enough to have received a delivery it gets opened and I plan my day around that.

I like to do my reviews as soon as possible but sometimes have to schedule them as I don’t like bombarding you with too much at once but have to balance that with the expectations from suppliers.
I always treat suppliers and their products with respect – If I am not keen on something I have contacted suppliers and explained to them why and I don’t post. I don’t really want something on my feed I don’t like anyway as I like to have a positive feed and don’t want to spread negativity. We all need more positivity in our lives but it’s got to be honest too!

So on the days I have received a delivery I read up about it. Take photos, experience it and review honestly. I then post.
Once this is done I check messages again, check feeds – I have Instagram, Twitter and Facebook and then plan lunch if I haven’t already squeezed it in between all of the above! I photograph again, post, check messages, check my feed.
It all settles down around mid afternoon and I get some quiet time before planning and cooking tea, taking photos, posting, watching tv with one eye and responding to messages and checking feeds.

It all sounds a bit laborious but I love it!
Ken my partner is very patient with me and acknowledges this has to be done lol!
We only watch a couple of hours tv so my social media gets priority again! And so it goes on until bedtime!
Don’t get me wrong I do have free time to spend with family and friends and I love to have a bit of pampering now and then. I am semi retired now but work 1-2 days a week as I am not at retirement age yet! – my days are full and happy! I wouldn’t change it. We are lucky enough to get to try new and exciting (and some not so exciting) products and my mission is to share these with you. I love new ideas for foods, recipes, gifts, gadgets, and the occasional luxury! My friends and family get first hand experience of these as I am a sharing type of person!

Some may see bloggers as ‘freeloaders’ but we actually work hard to do what we love to do, which in monetary value equates to way below the minimum wage! Although we are privileged enough to receive sample products from suppliers purely for review we never take this for granted. It is a job/ hobby/vocation. The products we receive from suppliers are either gifted or discounted and if we are passionate about something you will know about it!
I don’t always post about products I have been sent and quite often write about products I have purchased or things I have seen when out and about. It’s about sharing after all ! I sometimes receive products on a regular basis, build good relationships with suppliers and often do work for them behind the scenes.

They may ask for my help in creating recipes which I plan and write up for them to publish or are looking at development and ask for my input.

My foundation for all of the above is searching for a healthier,
more confident and a happier me. My Slimming World group enabled me to move on from the rut I was in and give me a focus for the future, inspired by encouragement from the same people and I will be forever grateful for that.

I love creating new recipes and sharing them and spend as much time making stuff as I can. I sometimes end up with too much because the cooking bug got a hold of me – I should open a cafe lol!

Life is importantly about balance, I now look towards a healthy lifestyle with a bit of indulgence and luxury but continue to share what I experience with you guys – my extended support group. Thankyou for being there and listening to my ramblings, for putting up with my posts if it’s not your ‘cup of tea’, for ‘liking’ my meals when it’s not something you would have and for watching my insta stories and sending me lovely messages which I am always telling Ken about. Keep in touch

Love Debsx

Leave a Reply

